15 Of 29 Cup Races Run Have Seen Margin Of Victory Less Than 1 Second

NASCAR announced that the 2020 rules package won’t be a whole lot different than the one for the current season. While some fans aren’t happy that changes aren’t really being made, NASCAR has produced some stats that say otherwise.

In earning the pole position at the Charlotte ROVAL last week, 21-year old Hendrick Motorsports driver William Byron now has five pole positions on the season and ties Stewart-Haas Racing veteran Kevin Harvick for most on the season. Interestingly, Joe Gibbs Racing has the most wins (15) in the field, but only Denny Hamlin has scored a single pole position start (Bristol-2).

There have been 11 winners representing six teams. JGR has 15 wins among its four drivers – more than double the total of any other team. Martin Truex Jr., who won the opening two races of the Playoff’s first round leads all drivers with six wins. His teammates Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin have four each and Erik Jones has one. The other drivers with multiple wins include Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick and Chase Elliott with three victories each and Joey Logano has two trophies.

Loop data reveals that the average Margin of Victory through the season’s opening 29 races has been 1.700-seconds. Fifteen of the races have been decided by a margin of victory of less than a second – 51.7 percent. The average number of lead changes per race is 17.28, which is the most through 29 races since 2015 (17.66).

Green Flag Passes for the Lead are up 38.3 percent over last season and the statistic is higher in 19 of the 29 races to date, including two of the three Playoff races (at Las Vegas and the Charlotte ROVAL).

Green Flag Passes in general are up 24.5 percent from than last year and that includes six of the last seven races.

#MonsterEnergyNASCARCupSeries #NASCAR

0 views0 comments