36 Cars On 103rd Running Of The Indianapolis 500 Entry List

INDIANAPOLIS – It’s officially May. A month long celebration in Indianapolis is set to ensue. On Wednesday, the first day of May, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway unveiled the official entry list for this month’s Indy 500.

Seven winners are among the field of drivers assigned to 36 cars entered for the 103rd Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday, May 26 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Three-time winner Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009) and single winners Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Takuma Sato (2017) and Will Power (2018) are the past winners aiming for another victory this year in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

The total of 36 cars – an increase from last year – also will result in intense competition for the 33 starting spots during the exciting new qualifying format for the crown jewel of the NTT IndyCar Series.

Crown Royal Armed Forces Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19 on the 2.5-mile oval. Thirty cars will earn a spot in the starting field Saturday. The top nine starting positions and the last three available starting spots – positions 31 through 33 – will be determined Sunday during the Fast Nine Shootout and Last Row Shootout, both of which will air on NBC.

Two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso of Spain returns to the “500” this year with McLaren Racing, attempting to become just the second driver to win the “Triple Crown” of global auto racing with victories in the Indianapolis 500, 24 Hours of Le Mans and Monaco Grand Prix. Alonso electrified the racing world as an Indy 500 rookie in 2017 by leading 27 laps before retiring with 20 laps remaining due to a mechanical problem. He was named Rookie of the Year.

One of the deepest, most talented fields in recent years also will feature seven drivers competing for Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge Rookie of the Year honors: Marcus Ericsson, Santino Ferrucci, Ben Hanley, 2019 NTT IndyCar Series race winner Colton Herta, Jordan King, 2018 Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires champion Patricio O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist.

The field also includes seven past Indy car champions: Sebastien Bourdais, Dixon, Hunter-Reay, Kanaan, Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud and Power.

Andretti Autosport has entered five cars, more than any other team. That entry includes the No. 98 U.S. Concrete/Curb Honda fielded by Andretti Herta with Marco & Curb-Agajanian and driven by Marco Andretti, which will feature a vivid, Day-glo red livery honoring the 50th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500 victory by Andretti’s grandfather Mario Andretti in 1969.

We also have two TBA’s. Both Juncos and Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports have an entry open but it appears that Kyle Kaiser is the favorite to land in the Juncos car and Oriol Servia with SPM.

Practice opens Tuesday, May 14.

Visit IMS.com to buy tickets and for more information about all Month of May activities at IMS. NBC will televise live the INDYCAR Grand Prix at 3 p.m. (ET) Saturday, May 11 and the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge at 11 a.m. (ET) Sunday, May 26.


Winners (7): Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tony Kanaan, Will Power, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato

Rookies (7): Marcus Ericsson, Santino Ferrucci, Ben Hanley, Colton Herta, Jordan King, Patricio O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist

American drivers (14): Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta, JR Hildebrand, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Sage Karam, Charlie Kimball, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot, Graham Rahal, Alexander Rossi, Zach Veach

International drivers (20): Max Chilton, Ben Hanley, Jack Harvey, Jordan King, Pippa Mann – England; Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Matheus Leist – Brazil; James Davison, Will Power – Australia; Sebastien Bourdais, Simon Pagenaud – France; Marcus Ericsson, Felix Rosenqvist – Sweden; James Hinchcliffe, Canada; Takuma Sato – Japan; Patricio O’Ward – Mexico; Fernando Alonso – Spain; Scott Dixon – New Zealand; Ed Jones – United Arab Emirates

Engines (36): Chevrolet 18, Honda 18 (all cars use Dallara chassis and Firestone tires)

Official Entry List

2 Josef Newgarden Nashville, Tennessee Shell V-Power Nitro Plus Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske

3 Helio Castroneves


4 Matheus Leist Novo Hamburgo, Brazil ABC Supply AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet A.J. Foyt Enterprises

5 James Hinchcliffe Toronto, Canada Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

7 Marcus Ericsson (R) Kumla, Sweden Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

9 Scott Dixon


10 Felix Rosenqvist (R) Värnamo, Sweden NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Chip Ganassi Racing

12 Will Power


14 Tony Kanaan


15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio United Rentals Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

18 Sebastien Bourdais Le Mans, France SealMaster Honda Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan

19 Santino Ferrucci (R) Woodbury, Connecticut Cly-Del Manufacturing Honda Dale Coyne Racing

20 Ed Carpenter Indianapolis, Indiana Preferred Freezer Services Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing

21 Spencer Pigot Orlando, Florida Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing

22 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France Menards Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske

23 Charlie Kimball Camarillo, California Fiasp Carlin Chevrolet Carlin

24 Sage Karam Nazareth, Pennsylvania DRR WIX Filters Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

25 Conor Daly Noblesville, Indiana United States Air Force Honda Andretti Autosport

26 Zach Veach Stockdale, Ohio Gainbridge Honda Andretti Autosport

27 Alexander Rossi


28 Ryan Hunter-Reay


30 Takuma Sato


31 Patricio O’Ward (R) Monterrey, Mexico Carlin Chevrolet Carlin

32 TBA Juncos Racing Chevrolet Juncos Racing

33 James Davison Melbourne, Australia Dale Coyne with Byrd and Belardi Honda Dale Coyne Racing with Byrd and Belardi

39 Pippa Mann Ipswich, England Driven2SaveLives Chevrolet Clauson-Marshall Racing

42 Jordan King (R) Warwick, England Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

48 JR Hildebrand Sausalito, California DRR Salesforce Chevrolet Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

59 Max Chilton Reigate, England Gallagher Carlin Chevrolet Carlin

60 Jack Harvey Bassingham, England AutoNation / SiriusXM Honda Meyer Shank Racing

63 Ed Jones Dubai, United Arab Emirates Ed Carpenter Racing Scuderia Corsa Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing

66 Fernando Alonso Oviedo, Spain McLaren Racing Chevrolet McLaren Racing

77 TBA Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

81 Ben Hanley (R) Manchester, England 10 Star DragonSpeed Chevrolet DragonSpeed

88 Colton Herta (R) Valencia, California Harding Steinbrenner Racing Honda Harding Steinbrenner Racing

98 Marco Andretti Nazareth, Pennsylvania U.S. Concrete / Curb Honda Andretti Herta with Marco & Curb-Agajanian

#103rdRunningoftheIndianapolis500 #IndianapolisMotorSpeedway #NTTIndyCarSeries

0 views0 comments