Alonso, Wayne Taylor Racing Wins Rolex 24 Hours Of Daytona, The Spaniard Has Only 1 Race Missing Now

A late race pass of the defending IMSA DPi champions proved to be the winning move on a rain soaked Sunday at the Daytona International Speedway. The No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac being driven by Felipe Nasr skated wide on a slippery surface in Turn 1 of the 3.56-mile race track, which allowed Fernando Alonso and his No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac to inch by.

Alonso, held on dearly for his new found track position, before IMSA officials brought out the red flag for wet conditions with just under two hours remaining in the 57th Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona. It was a race record for the amount of red flags displayed as a red flag was also thrown earlier this morning. The last time this race had a red flag was back in 2004.

With heavy Florida rains falls all morning, the track was puddled. Most of the action from 5 a.m. ET on was under yellow flag. That’s why Nasr’s costly error in a track that was like driving on ice was so big.

Alonso, gave WTR their second career win in the race, all in the last three years, as he Jordan Taylor, Kamui Kobayashi and Renger van der Zande are celebrating in the rain on Sunday. It was Cadillac’s third win overall in the race.

Alonso, has now won the 24 Hours of Lemans, the 24 Hours of Daytona and the Monaco Grand Prix in his illustrious career. The only thing missing is the Indianapolis 500, a race that he will compete in this May.

Nasr, had to settle for second as he Pipo Derani and Eric Curran was runner-up.

The Team Penske duo were next best as the No. 7 Acura entry finished third. Helio Castroneves, Alexander Rossi and Ricky Taylor were the drivers. The No. 6 Acura that was driven by Dane Cameron, Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud was the fourth best car but their fight was ended with an oil pump belt malfunction with just under four hours to go in the race. They’d finish eighth, 17 laps down.

The CORE Autosport Nissan driven by Jon Bennett, Romain Dumas, Loic Duvan and Colin Braun finished fourth in their No. 54 entry while the JDC Miller Motorsports Cadillac of Rubens Barrichello, Misha Goikhberg, Tristian Vauter and Devlin DeFranceso rounded out the top five.

The defending winners in the No. 5 Cadillac of Mustang Sampling Racing finished ninth, 20 laps down, after an electrical issue.

The Mazda’s were fast in all the preliminary action but had electrical problems overnight. Each happened laps within one another.

#FernandoAlonso #IMSA #Rolex24HoursofDaytona #WayneTaylorRacing

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All