By Virtue Of Owners Points, Logano To Start On The Pole For Saturday’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 (7:

DAYTONA Beach, Fla – It may have seemed weird to see Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series qualifying halted without any rain, but NASCAR officials deemed that due to lightning in the area that there wouldn’t be enough time to run qualifying for Saturday’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 (7:30 p.m. ET/NBC/MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) as well as inspect all 40 cars as well.

So, by virtue of owners points, Joey Logano will start first for the third time of the 2019 season and for the first time on a superspeedway. Logano’s No. 22 Ford will lead the field to green for this weekend’s race at the Daytona International Speedway.

Joining Logano on the front row will be Kyle Busch in his No. 18 Toyota. Between them, they’ve reached victory lane six times this season.

“I think anytime you can be first, it’s a good position,” said Logano after earning the pole for Saturday night by default. “That’s where I want to be all the time. The beginning or the end, I want to be first all the time. Where we would have qualified? I don’t really care. We’re first (laughing). I don’t know, I don’t care. I know I’m probably the one that is not complaining about it thought. We never made a qualifying run to really know where our single car speed was gonna be, not that we were banking on rain or anything like that. It just played out that way. We’ll take it.

“I’ve never had a superspeedway pole before and I don’t know if this actually counts as one or not, but I’m starting first and I’m counting it and that’s all that matters.”

Saturday night will also be the first time since July 2016 that a Hendrick car won’t start on the pole at Daytona and just the second time since 2014.

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Joey Logano, Kyle Busch

Row 2: Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick

Row 3: Martin Truex Jr., Denny Hamlin

Row 4: Chase Elliott, Kurt Busch

Row 5: Alex Bowman, Ryan Blaney

Row 6: Aric Almirola, William Byron

Row 7: Kyle Larson, Jimmie Johnson

Row 8: Daniel Suarez, Clint Bowyer

Row 9: Erik Jones, Ryan Newman

Row 10: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Paul Menard

Row 11: Austin Dillon, Chris Buescher

Row 12: Ty Dillon, Daniel Hemric R

Row 13: Matt DiBenedetto, Ryan Preece R

Row 14: David Ragan, Michael McDowell

Row 15: Darrell Wallace Jr., Corey LaJoie

Row 16: Matt Tifft R, Quin Houff

Row 17: Landon Cassill, Justin Haley

Row 18: BJ McLeod, Parker Kligerman

Row 19: JJ Yeley, Ross Chastain

Row 20: Brendan Gaughan, Joey Gase

#JoeyLogano #MonsterEnergyNASCARCupSeries #DaytonaInternationalSpeedway #CokeZeroSugar400 #NASCAR

0 views0 comments