For 3rd Straight Year, Larson Earns Sonoma Pole

For the third consecutive year, Kyle Larson will have the top starting spot for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at the Sonoma Raceway. Larson, circled the 2.52-mile California road course with a speed of 95.712 mph in his No. 42 Chevrolet to earn the Busch Pole Award for Sunday’s Toyota/Save Mart 350 (3 p.m. ET/FS1/PRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). It was Larson’s eighth career Cup pole, three of which now coming at Sonoma.

In fact, Chip Ganassi Racing has now won five of the last seven poles at Sonoma too.

Joining Larson on the front row is Hendrick Motorsports’ William Byron. The North Carolina native qualified his No. 24 Chevrolet with a top lap of 95.669 mph to earn his third front row starting spot in the last four races.

The last winner of the season in Joey Logano will start third in his No. 22 Ford. Logano, qualified with a speed of 95.618 mph. Chase Elliott (95.597 mph) and Daniel Suarez (95.234 mph) rounded out the top five of the starting lineup.

The top Toyota went to Denny Hamlin in sixth as three of the four Joe Gibbs Racing cars will start 6-7-8. Erik Jones had a flat tire on his run and didn’t get a complete hot lap. He’ll roll off 32nd as a result.

Hendrick Motorsports had all four cars make the second and final round of qualifying on Saturday as joining Byron and Elliott up front is Jimmie Johnson (11th) and Alex Bowman (12th).

Toyota/Save Mart 350 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kyle Larson, William Byron

Row 2: Joey Logano, Chase Elliott

Row 3: Daniel Suarez, Denny Hamlin

Row 4: Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr.

Row 5: Ryan Blaney, Chris Buescher

Row 6: Jimmie Johnson, Alex Bowman

Row 7: Michael McDowell, Clint Bowyer

Row 8: Aric Almirola, Kurt Busch

Row 9: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., David Ragan

Row 10: Matt DiBenedetto, Ryan Preece R

Row 11: Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski

Row 12: Kevin Harvick, Paul Menard

Row 13: Daniel Hemric R, Austin Dillon

Row 14: Corey LaJoie, Matt Tifft R

Row 15: Parker Kligerman, Darrell Wallace Jr.

Row 16: Ty Dillon, Erik Jones

Row 17: Justin Haley, Cody Ware

Row 18: Landon Cassill, JJ Yeley

Row 19: Reed Soenson

#MonsterEnergyNASCARCupSeries #SonomaRaceway #KyleLarson #ToyotaSaveMart350 #NASCAR

0 views0 comments