Harvick Earns Brickyard 400 Pole, Ford’s To Start 1-2-3-4

INDIANAPOLIS – Kevin Harvick didn’t need to do a qualifying sim on Saturday. He knew that his No. 4 Ford had speed in it. So, his Stewart-Haas Racing team used the two Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice sessions yesterday focusing on race trim.

On Sunday morning, that moved paid off.

Harvick, will start on the pole for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 (2 p.m. ET/NBC/IMS Radio Network/SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) after circling the famed 2.5-mile track with a speed of 185.766 mph. It was Harvick’s 30th career Busch Pole Award and fifth of the season.

For Harvick, he’s hoping this pole leads to past success. See, coming into the weekend, Harvick had won the pole here twice. In 2003, he won the race from the top starting spot. Can he do so again later on today?

Harvick, heads to this weekend’s race on the heels of five top seven finishes in his last eight starts. He now has the clean air that it takes to win.

Speaking of clean air, the Fords have the best of it. The top four starters for Sunday’s 160 Lap race all drive blue ovals.

Joining Harvick on the front row is 2011 Brickyard champion Paul Menard. The Wood Brothers driver was quickest in final practice on Saturday and backed that up with a speed of 185.724 mph. This will be Menard’s first top five starting spot of the season.

Harvick’s SHR teammate of Clint Bowyer (185.277 mph) will roll off third in his No. 14 Ford for his first starting spot in the top 2 Rows of a Cup race since Pocono in early June.

Joey Logano (185.193 mph) and Jimmie Johnson (185.181 mph) rounded out the top five in Sunday morning qualifying.

The bubble drivers for the final playoff spot will roll off third (Bowyer), fifth (Johnson), 20th (Daniel Suarez) and 22nd (Ryan Newman).

Brickyard 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Kevin Harvick, Paul Menard

Row 2: Clint Bowyer, Joey Logano

Row 3: Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski

Row 4: Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch

Row 5: Ryan Blaney, Aric Almirola

Row 6: Daniel Hemric R, Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Row 7: Alex Bowman, Erik Jones

Row 8: Bubba Wallace, Chris Buescher

Row 9: David Ragan, Austin Dillon

Row 10: Kyle Larson, Daniel Suarez

Row 11: Michael McDowell, Ryan Newman

Row 12: Ryan Preece R, Chase Elliott

Row 13: Ty Dillon, Matt DiBenedetto

Row 14: Martin Truex Jr., Matt Tifft R

Row 15: William Byron, Corey LaJoie

Row 16: Landon Cassill, Parker Kligerman

Row 17: Denny Hamlin, Ross Chastain

Row 18: BJ McLeod, Ryan Sieg

Row 19: Reed Sorenson, Garrett Smithley

Row 20: Josh Bilicki, JJ Yeley

#MonsterEnergyNASCARCupSeries #IndianapolisMotorSpeedway #Brickyard400 #NASCAR #KevinHarvick

0 views0 comments